Middle East inspired Paleo lunch plate!

Middle Eastern food is lip-smackingly hands-down probably my favourite type of cuisine, and yes, I am aware that “Middle Eastern” is a blanket term with a lot of variation in between. If I had to be more specific, then Lebanese would be what I am most familiar with and love, love, love. It’s just so simple and infused with quality, fresh produce. OK, so maybe not so much in the case of kebab proprieters but you get my drift! Middle Eastern food is really quite compatible with the Paleo way of eating which makes me a very happy bunny.

I’m usually very uninspired when putting lunch together – it’s usually leftovers or just a mishmash plate of bits and pieces. Today wasn’t really much different from the latter, however this lunch plate had a distinct Middle Eastern and also Mediterranean influence. I’d picked up some fresh tabouli (up there with the best I’ve ever had, and I’ve eaten a LOT of tabouli) and babaganoush which is probably my favourite condiment. Since hummus is out on Paleo, on account of the chickpeas, babaganoush is a great, and probably superior, substitute. I’ve tried to make babaganoush myself, but am happy leave it to the experts! I picked up the tabouli and babaganoush from a Lebanese take away place called Grandpa’s in Hurstville and they even made me a fresh batch of tabouli without the wheat…WIN!

This plate was a cinch to put together as there was barely any prep apart from soft-boiling an egg:

Middle Eastern paleo lunch plate

Middle Eastern paleo lunch plate

The plate was made up of:

  • Smoked sardines
  • Sicilian olives (look at that gorgeous green hue)
  • Semi dried tomatoes
  • Babaganoush
  • Tabouli
  • Soft boiled egg (which it seems I butchered when I was peeling the shell off)

This type of cobbled together lunch would be ideal for a picnic or even taking in to the office when you need to pull together things quickly from the fridge. Bon appetit!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Middle East inspired Paleo lunch plate!”

  1. gazzamon Says:

    Sounds great! Where can I buy smoked sardines? As I appear to have some autoimmune issues, I’m steering clear of the nightshades (as advised by Loren Cordain) at the moment – so no ‘tatties’, eggplant or tomatoes. So no baba ganoush for me – Bummer!

    Gazza

    • Sally Cinnamon Says:

      I got the smoked sardines from Aldi believe it or not. $1.50 for a tin of smoked sardines in olive oil. I’m stocking up as they are really good. I’ve also dealt with autoimmune issues (though I only test positive for ANA nothing specific) – Paleo has really eradicated my severe upper back muscle aching and stiff joints – does take plenty of time to calm the autoimmune process down though, but it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

