Almond flour sesame crackers

In my first post, I wrote about being a bit worried about Paleo not allowing buckwheat to be consumed (I still haven’t looked into why this is, as it’s not a grain). I’ve still been eating a little buckwheat bread and buckwheat crackers as a snack but am wanting to cut it out if I can. Breakfast is a bit tricky since I’m time poor and I like something solid like buckwheat  bread to go with my eggs.

So, I’ve been racking my brains thinking of what I can eat as an alternative. When a new book arrived, The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook, written by popular blogger Elana Amsterdam, I was stupidly excited to find plenty of savoury cracker recipes. Yes, this is what my life amounts to right now: high emotion when I find a suitable recipe that looks great…and low emotion when I discover that an additive in coconut milk “has been known to cause deaths in animals” (I didn’t verify the source of that additive info but it was definitely enough to make me put the can down and run from the supermarket!)

So, here is my very first attempt at a recipe from the book: Sesame crackers.

 

Sesame crackers
Sesame crackers

Verdict: spectactular! If a little on the salty side (I think I got a bit carried away and used heaped tsp rather than even tsp…oops). And very very easy to make.

Grapeseed oil and agave nectar are staples of Elana’s cooking and are pretty controversial in some circles, so I’m going to do some more reading and work out what I can do to substitute for these.

 

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Almond flour sesame crackers”

  1. Laura Zucchetti Says:

    Yum – they do look delish. 🙂 That is just the kind of cook book I might have to buy. I made a no flour cocoa cake this weekend. Was pretty good! Almond meal is amazing stuff. So if almond flour just very fine almond meal?

    • Sally Cinnamon Says:

      Sorry I am SO late in replying. Almond flour is the same thing as almond meal as far as I know, but it’s really important to make sure the almonds have been blanched first. Almond meal may sometimes be unblanched and therefore not as fine.

  2. My Paleo shopping list « Cinnamon gets her groove back Says:

    […] and chia seeds – I use these when I make savoury biscuits or coconut […]

Leave a Reply

